Vegetable Garden Plot

Reply to gardening topic Page 1 of 1
suggestions for improvement
Post suggestions for improvement 
This is my first year using plangarden and I really like it, however, I do have some suggestions for improvement. First, I think it would be beneficial to have some sort of spacing tool. In other words, have the program be intuitive, so if a gardener is placing tomatoes on the garden plot, the program would know that tomatoes need at least 18" on all sides of them to grow. Then if I tried to plant another vegetable within the 18 inch "buffer zone" the program would have an error message pop up that says, "Too close! Tomatoes need at least an 18" diameter of clear space!"

Another way to improve the application would be for it to be aware of companion plantings. Thus, if I try to put dill next to carrots, the program would have another error message that say, "Dill and carrots are incompatible with each other: plant elsewhere." In other words, the program would have a database of what cannot grow next to what.

Then, in the harvest section of the program, I'd like to see exact dates, or at least exact "windows" of dates for the ?harvest estimate?. For example, right now if I click on "Date planted" I get a little icon of a seedling, but have no idea what that date is unless I go back to the "Manage Vegetables" section and look it up. Similarly, it would be nice to have the harvest dates exact, so I have an idea of when to expect my first picking, and when to expect my last. As it stands now, we have to guess what the dates of actual harvest are.

Also, I think there?s currently a bug in the program. I went to the ?manage vegetables? area and told all of my vegetables to ?hide name?. I then saved my garden plot so that no names where showing. Yet, when I went back several days later to look at my garden again, all the names were back on. You may want to look into that.