Vegetable Garden Plot

Reply to gardening topic Page 1 of 1
Potatoes seeds
Post Potatoes seeds 
Hello-

I ordered the potatoes seeds a month ago and got the package from the UPS today. I opened the package and there are a lot of white powder on the potatoes seeds.

What is white powder for? Do I wash the seeds and put into the 55 gallon bin? How many seeds should I put in the bin?

This is my first time to grow the potatoes and I still learning....

Thank for help.

Thanks,
Richard

View user's garden forum profile Send Garden forum private message
Post Seeds and planting 
Richard,

As for the white powder, I am not sure, you probably need to contact the seed company to see if this is something they use to protect the tubers somehow.

A couple potatoes per bin should do fine. I wouldn't get carried away. Also plant some in the garden and compare the yield that you get with both methods.
I am by no means an expert on potato growing. Hopefully someone else with more potatoe experience can add some more insight.

Roy

I am willing bet that the white powder is a mold retardent but it is better to ask, it actually could be mold itself, either way they will grow.
I saw a man growing potatoes in a interesting way. I tried it and was really impressed.
Start the potato in the ground, then as the "greenery" gets tall put an old tire around it fill it with soil and keep this up. Keeping only enough green on the top to keep a steady growth going. The way the man explained it to me (and it made sense) was the tires helped heat the soil. and the curved parst held the water at the different levels so that wasn't a big varaition in moisture content from top to bottom. then when you want to harvest just pull off the tires and pick up the potatoes.
Just another view on the subject
Don

Post Potatoes Seeds